
@ESPNW on X
A shroud of controversy is currently hanging over the WNBA after the ending to Game 3 of the playoff semifinals series between the Minnesota Lynx and the Phoenix Mercury.
With the series tied at 1-1, Phoenix led 80-76 late in Game 3, looking to lock down the home court advantage it earned by winning Game 2 in Minnesota.
The Lynx inbounded the ball with 28 seconds remaining and executed a dribble hand off, giving the ball to superstar Napheesa Collier. However, before Collier could get moving downhill, Mercury star Alyssa Thomas stole the ball and went the other way for a layup, making the score 82-76 and all but ending the game, which it would go on to win 84-76, giving Phoenix a firm grasp on the five-game series.
Collier, meanwhile, suffered a serious injury on the play when she and Thomas collided attempting to get to the loose ball. Lynx coach Cheryl Reeve, who was ejected from the game for yelling at officials about the play, said she believed that Collier suffered a leg fracture.
“We were trying to play through it, trying not to make excuses. But one of the best players in the league, she had zero free throws. And she had five fouls,” Reeve said of the officiating. “She had her shoulder pulled out and finished the game with her leg being taken out.
NBA Refs Believe Alyssa Thomas Made A Clean Play On Napheesa Collier
Reeve wasn’t the only one to crash out. A number of WNBA fans were incensed. They claimed that Thomas clearly fouled Collier in the process of pursuing the loose ball.
However, it appears those fans are incorrect.
This is NOT a foul. Thomas legally gets to the ball and knocks the ball loose prior to any contact. The leg to leg contact is incidental once the ball is clearly loose. This was correctly judged in real time as a no call as were the subsequent technical fouls. pic.twitter.com/kdImDRwsNe
— NBA Referees (@OfficialNBARefs) September 27, 2025
The official X account of the NBA referees posted a video of the play on Saturday. It explained that Thomas did not commit a foul.
“This is NOT a foul,” the post reads. “Thomas legally gets to the ball and knocks the ball loose before any contact. The leg-to-leg contact is incidental once the ball is clearly loose. This was correctly judged in real time as a no call, as were the subsequent technical fouls.”
So, there you have it. Thomas stole the ball cleanly. It’s still a wildly unfortunate play for Collier, who had a legendary regular season for Minnesota.
Unfortunately, her season may now be over. And her Lynx teammates have their backs firmly up again the wall.