
Hugh Freeze was livid with the Southeastern Conference after Oklahoma was allowed to score a touchdown on a deceitful play against Auburn on Saturday. The rules controversy ultimately proved to be the difference in the final score.
The Tigers lost to the Sooners by seven points that should not have been allowed.
Even though he was correct, it appears as though Hugh Freeze lied about his approach to the contentious college football play call. It does not look like he tried to call a timeout.
Lane Kiffin did it first!
As often seems to be the case, Lane Kiffin was the first SEC coach to test the rules as they are written. Ole Miss scored a touchdown against Texas A&M on Nov. 4, 2023 that looked identical to what happened in Norman on Saturday.
The Rebels’ sideline called for Jordan Watkins to come off of the field as if he was going to sub out but the speedy wide receiver actually stayed on the field right next to the sideline.
The Aggies did not notice he was there. They completely forgot about Watkins.
Jaxson Dart hurried to snap the ball and threw to his wide-open pass catcher for an easy touchdown.
Kiffin addressed the play after the game.
“You can’t have the intent to deceive,” he said. “Jordan was just running off like he was coming off and he stopped before and took a big split behind the ball on our sidelines when the ball was on the far hash. And they didn’t notice him, so it was a really good play by our players.”
Ole Miss likely got away with one. It probably was not legal. The ‘Unfair Tactics’ section of Approved Ruling 9-2-2 of the NCAA rulebook discusses this specific situation.
“No simulated replacements or substitutions may be used to confuse opponents. No tactic associated with substitutes or the substitution process may be used to confuse opponents.”
The touchdown was allowed to stand. Texas A&M lost.
Oklahoma faked a substitution against Auburn.
Oklahoma scored an easy touchdown during the first half against Auburn on Saturday. Isaiah Sategna walked into the end zone for six. He was wide open down the sideline.
Easy into the end zone 🤲
— Oklahoma Football (@OU_Football) September 20, 2025
📺 ABC pic.twitter.com/inXsX7m4UI
However, upon further review, it appeared as though Sategna was only as open as he was because he pretended to sub out. ESPN rules analyst Matt Austin thought it was illegal.
'You cannot use the substitution process to deceive your opponent' – Matt Austin ESPN CFB Rules Analyst
— Patrick Greenfield (@PCGreenfield) September 20, 2025
Hugh Freeze livid after that Oklahoma touchdown. pic.twitter.com/wjTl4BAm3E
You can see Sategna’s intent to deceive.
BUT WAIT, there's more…. pic.twitter.com/6faPbf9oMY
— Patrick Greenfield (@PCGreenfield) September 20, 2025
The play was ultimately allowed to stand. Offensive coordinator Ben Arbuckle flipped the bird.
Ben Arbuckle and a bird pic.twitter.com/oCcCB8KSxd
— Connor O'Gara (@cjogara) September 20, 2025
Oklahoma won by seven…
Hugh Freeze was livid.
Auburn’s head coach did not understand why Sategna was allowed to score. He emphasized the specific instruction on “deception plays” during the offseason.
Hugh Freeze said on Oklahoma’s first touchdown the refs didn’t hear them trying to call a timeout.
— Rosie Langello-Hodgens (@RosieLangello) September 20, 2025
“We were instructed all off-season about deception plays and things so we’ll see what’s said…I really don’t know what will be said about that.”
🎥: Auburn Athletics @wsfa12news https://t.co/F2v9lCLMjm pic.twitter.com/Fx2a9Wc55D
Freeze was right. The Sooners used deceptive tactics so the touchdown should’ve been overturned.
The Southeastern Conference confirmed its mistake after the game.
What’s done is done. Oklahoma beat Auburn. The result will stand even though the Tigers were on the wrong end of an illegal scoring play. It is what it is.
Here’s the thing.
This entire situation could’ve been avoided if Hugh Freeze called a timeout like he said he did. If you look closely at the film, at no point did he signal for a timeout.
Zoom in of Freeze never asking for a timeout, despite him complaining that he tried to take one. Never made motion for a TO at all pic.twitter.com/3ZSotqn9TP
— Kyle Dahlgren (@kyledahlgren) September 21, 2025
Perhaps Freeze was yelling at the line judge for a timeout. I don’t know how the line judge did not hear him if he was. They were separated by only a few feet.
And, to go one step further, if Freeze really wanted a timeout, he would’ve made his intentions very clear to the line judge. He could have and should have stepped in front of the official with his hands together to make the “T” signal for timeout.
Yes, Auburn has every right to be upset about a rules violation that had a direct impact on the final score. No, Hugh Freeze did not try to call a timeout.