
Oregon lost the first college baseball game of its 2025 Regional at home in large part because of a controversial ejection. Anson Aroz was removed from the contest for what was ruled as “malicious contact” during a violent play at the plate.
However, the 5-foot-11, 195-pound baserunner had no choice but to railroad the opposing catcher.
Utah Valley held a 6-4 lead over the home team in the bottom of the eighth inning. Oregon had runners on the corners with zero outs. A deep pop fly to left field allowed the Ducks to advance the runner on third base. Aroz waited for the Wolverines’ outfielder to make the catch and tagged for home.
The throw actually beat him to the plate but Utah Valley’s catcher could not secure the ball to make the tag. It bounced over his head toward the pitcher in a backup position. Aroz scored.
In college baseball, by rule, “a defensive player cannot block a base without clear possession of the ball.” The catcher very clearly blocked the dish without possession of the ball because the ball was never in his glove at any point during the play. An obstruction call would’ve allowed the run to score.
And yet, upon further review, the umpiring crew in Eugene determined “malicious contact” by Aroz. Not only did he get called out, he was ejected. The run did not score. The game stayed at 6-4.
As you could imagine, Oregon was irate with the horrible ruling.
We have CHAOS in Eugene 👀👀👀
— 11Point7 College Baseball (@11point7) May 31, 2025
Anson Aroz has been called out and ejected for malicious contact for a collision at the plate. Utah Valley leads host Oregon in the 9th pic.twitter.com/r25VZGPJSE
There is no doubt that Anson Aroz came in hot. I am not trying to argue otherwise. If the catcher had the ball in his glove and still got run over in such a brutal manner, I might understand the call. Might.
I do not understand the call as it was made. Aroz at no point extended his arms or lowered his shoulder. In fact, he pulled up at the last second before contact! Utah Valley’s catcher had his entire body in front of the plate by at least six inches. He gave the runner nowhere else to go but through him even though the rule requires the backstop to allow a lane for the runner to slide home. There wasn’t a lane!

Anson Aroz will not be allowed to play in the Ducks’ second game of the weekend as they try to climb their way out of the loser’s bracket on their home field. The Wolverines went on to win the first game by a score of 6-5. The run that was erased due to nonexistent “malicious contact” was the difference.